About the University of Pune


"The University stands for humanism and tolerance, for reason, for adventure of ideas and for the search of truth. It stands for the forward march of the human race towards even higher objectives. If the universities discharge their duties adequately then it is well with the nation and the people."

- Jawaharlal Nehru

These words of Jawaharlal Nehru embody in them the guiding principle of the University of Pune. Established in 1948, the University has since become one of the leading centers for research and teaching in the country. The 411 acre campus is located in the North Western part of Pune. The placid environs and state of the art facilities provide it's numerous students with an ideal atmosphere to pursue research in various areas of Science, Arts, Commerce and Languages. The University houses 46 departments which provide a wide array of academic programs. Though a young centre, the University has made a significant impact in various areas of research and teaching, and continued to strive for excellence.

The University of Pune (formerly known as University of Poona) was established under the Poona University Act, passed by the Bombay Legislature on February 10, 1948. In the same year, Dr. M. R. Jayakar assumed office as the first Vice Chancellor of the University.

Shri B.G.Kher, Chief Minister and Education Minister, Govt. of Bombay, took keen interest in setting apart a beautiful campus for the University. As a result of his efforts, a campus extending over 411 acres was allocated to the University in early 1950.

Initially the University had a jurisdiction extending over 12 districts of Western Maharashtra. However, with the establishment of the Shivaji University, Kolhapur, in 1964, the jurisdiction of the University was restricted to 5 districts, viz. Pune, Ahmednagar, Nasik, Dhule and Jalgaon. Out of these, two districts viz. Dhule and Jalgaon were later attached to the North Maharashtra University established in August 1990.

During the year 1949, there were only 18 colleges affiliated to the University, with an enrollment of over 8000 students. Thereafter, the number of colleges increased, and in 1994-95, the University had 41 post-graduate departments, 209 affiliated colleges and 118 recognized research institutions, with an enrollment of 1,70,000 students for both the under-graduate and post-graduate courses in different faculties. The research institutions recognized by the University include institutions of national importance such as the National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), MACS, CWPRS, NIV, Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics, Deccan College among others.

Since its inception, the progress of the University of Pune has been inextricably linked with the efforts of an illustrious list of Vice-Chancellors.

University of Pune at a Glance
Establishment 10th February, 1949.
Location Ganeshkhind Road, Pune, Maharashtra, India.
Website address http://www.unipune.ernet.in
Total area of the campus 411 Acres.
First Vice-Chancellor Dr. M.R. Jayakar.
Chancellor Shri. S.C.Jamir.
Vice –Chancellor Dr. A. D. Adsool
Registrar Dr. Manik Laxmanrao Jadhav
Number of Academic Departments 46
Jurisdiction Ahmednagar, Nasik, Pune
Number of Colleges affiliated 269
Colleges only for Girls 11
Recognized Research Institutes 129
Teachers in the University Departments 288
Faculties 11
Books & journals in the Pune University Jayakar Library 4,22000 approx. (Includes books, periodicals and other material)
Home | Contact Us 
Site Developed by Maharashtra Knowledge Corporation Ltd